top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 11 (Real WORKS)

Week 11 (Activity) - This CRJ post will be the last to be published until the release of 'Week 12' on the 22nd of April. I have now completed the majority of weekly content, and I feel confident I can now reproduce my findings for the assessment. I have placed two soft deadlines, the first being on the 22nd of April to update any existing CRJ post and the second on the 27th to complete the assessment.


This week I discovered what brands my peers had created for themselves, either for work or general hobbies. As such, I was keen to share my own brands, notably ones related to my career in game development. I then moved on to The Art of the Approach, created by Falmouth University Real WORKS and designed to help students take the next step in their careers.


The curriculum was extremely CV focused, and it presented effective ways to promote myself via LinkedIn. However, I am not currently seeking employment, and therefore, I didn't see any real value in completing The Art of the Approach now. In hindsight, one of the sections for the assessment is about future goals, and I believe this curriculum would have reviewed the possibilities for potential careers. However, having researched SMART goals before participating in the curriculum, I trust that my own findings will be adequate for the assessment.


Finally, the lecture on SMART actions by Dr Michael Scott reminded me to review my own SMART goals I had set in Week 5 of this module. I made the difficult decision of amending these goals in addition to creating new ones relevant to my ambitions for this MA - these SMART goals can be read here. Due to this module nearly being over, I have created SMART goals in mind for the next module. I am happy with my new revised SMART goals, and I hope to adhere to them during the next module.


Reasons for updating/changing SMART goals:

  1. They were vague.

  2. I believe one was unattainable.

  3. I believe they were difficult to measure.

  4. They did not cover every ambition I have for this MA.


Comments


bottom of page