top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 1 (Orientation)

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

Week 1 (Activity) - Each week we are required to reflect upon the work we have done. To begin with, it was nice to finally be acquainted with students from my course, MA Indie Game Development, and other students studying MA User Experience. Initially, I was nervous, however seeing peers live via our weekly webinar helped to calm any nerves I was experiencing.


Setting up the critical reflective journal and posting about the weekly material took most of my time. I made the mistake of reading all the material and reflecting upon it later. This was not a wise decision, because I used more time to remind myself about the content when I was reflecting. I hope to amend this for week two. Fortunately, the course material was not unfamiliar to me, so I felt comfortable writing about it. However, the style of writing, that being reflective and not descriptive, was the real challenge this week.


The challenge was fun and insightful and a brilliant way to introduce oneself. Although I devoted more time gathering items and framing the perfect shot rather than explaining the sentiment behind each item. The challenge came alive at the end of the week when we were able to look back at our creations.


Initially, I struggled to keep pace with this week, but I feel like I have developed a system that will allow me to keep on top of my studies and not feel burnout. I will reflect on course material in the present, rather than later and maintain quality over quantity in my posts. Currently, I am still playing catch up with week one. I plan to complete week two to the best of my abilities and then find time to go back to week one and expand on certain areas by adding figures and references. By my calculations, I will find my rhythm by week three at the latest, which will put me in good standing to prepare for the assignment.


Comments


bottom of page