top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 3 (Creating Games with Appeal)

Updated: Oct 30, 2022

What did you do this week?

Unfortunately, I am still behind schedule! This week I started on the player movement mechanics in Unity while Nathan and Adam handled the game outline. Although, I did manage to do a substantial amount of research involving game hooks, core loops and player fantasy.


What could you have done differently?

I drastically need to improve my working velocity. I have lectures, challenge activities, game development and my CRJ. Next week, I plan to ignore the GDC talks and focus on the single weekly lecture instead. Hopefully, I can then prioritise the marketing plan and budget scheme for next week.


What did you learn by doing the challenge activity and has any thoughts changed since?

N/A


Did you encounter any obstacles and if so, how did you overcome them?

Fortunately, I did not encounter any obstacles this week. However, it is nearly November, and I need to start prioritising the assessment and improving my working velocity.


Reading List

  • Hodent, C. (2017) The Gamer's Brain: How Neuroscience and UX can Impact Video Game Design. 1st edn. Boca Raton: CRC Press.

  • Swink, S. (2008) Game Feel: A Game Designer's Guide to Virtual Sensation. 1st edn. Routledge.

  • Schell, J. (2008) The Art of Game Design: A Book of Lenses. Boca Raton: CRC Press.

  • McCloud, S. (2001) Understanding comics: The Invisible Art. WmMorrowPB.


Comments


bottom of page