top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 3 (Rapid Ideation)

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

Week 3 (Activity) - This week was about rapid ideation and prototyping tools. Initially, I took part in the spark discussion with my peers, where we were encouraged to highlight any past experiences we had with rapid ideation. This included, but was not limited to, game jams, hackathons, and charrettes. I decided to offer my experience with game jams during my undergraduate degree at Solent University. I was brief, yet made certain to add valuable teachings from my experience. I was surprised to find out several of my peers had not participated in rapid ideation events before. In hindsight, I should have expanded on my experience and offered more reassurance to those who were sceptical about participating in game jams.


After tackling the spark discussion, I quickly took notes on the course material and moved swiftly onto the challenge activity in time for the weekly webinar discussion on Wednesday. Overall, this was a better schedule, although, my research notes were extremely brief, resulting in time lost due to going back over the course material once the weekly challenge had been completed. I enjoyed the weekly challenge of reverse engineering a chosen artefact, in this case, a puzzle from Logic Journey of the Zoombinis (1996) using the paper prototyping method. However, I could have challenged myself by selecting a more complex puzzle from the same game and trying other, unfamiliar prototyping methods.


The webinar was a great chance to receive peer feedback. Unfortunately, I was nervous and did not possess the courage to discuss my findings with the class (something I must improve on). Fortunately, after the webinar had concluded, my peers continued the discussion over in Discord. I raised a few points about reflective writing in the CRJ and how I am struggling to adapt. In addition, I talked about the content within the CRJ and how I am prioritising course material over independent research. My peers reassured me and offered some great advice, such as if you don't feel like writing you can submit videos and try and expand on the course material by writing the pros and cons of each method/technique.


My aims for next week are to maintain rhythm and participate in the weekly webinar discussion. Moreover, I need to prioritise independent research and improve my reflective writing style.


Comments


bottom of page