top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 4 (Narrative Design)

What did you do this week?

Figure 1: Space Junk [PR-V1.0] - DevRoom


I had some time off this week, so I concentrated on releasing the first pre-release build of the game (see figure 1). Overall, I am happy with how things turned out, although there is still a long way to go! I have started to use 'Hack 'n Plan', a virtual Kanban board, to organise my tasks and provide a clear direction. Next on the agenda is to program enemy AI, implement 'Burn Points' and work on improving and modelling the guns.


Figure 2: Space Junk [PR-V1.0] - Conversation with FAL-3001.


If you are interested in testing the game, then feel free to email me using this site or drop me a message!


What could you have done differently?

I definitely should have started using the Kanban board earlier! However, I am glad I am using it now during production. I intend to start showing a lot more of my game in the coming weeks and hopefully get some testers to play it.


What did you learn by doing the challenge activity and has any thoughts changed since?

The challenge activity encouraged me to think more about the game's story and certain narrative techniques I plan to use, such as environmental storytelling and character dialogue.


Did you encounter any obstacles and if so, how did you overcome them?

I don't think I overcame any pressing obstacles this week. Other than finding the time to watch all of week four's lectures.


Reading List

N/A


Comments


bottom of page