top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 5 (Art Direction)

Updated: Mar 15, 2023

What did you do this week?

After the release of the initial build, it was time to focus on other elements of the game. This included modelling the weapons, refining the enemy AI and making improvements to the Suck Cannon and Gravity Gun. I was hesitant to go back into Blender after multiple failed attempts in week two (see figure 1). However, with this week's topic being 'Art Direction', I thought it was somewhat fitting.


Figure 1: Original 'Suck Cannon' based on the 'Suck Cannon' in Ratchet and Clank (2002)



What could you have done differently?

I could have used some rapid ideation techniques to help bolster the design process. Instead, I went straight into modelling without a clear idea in mind, which ultimately wasted a substantial amount of time.


What did you learn by doing the challenge activity and has any thoughts changed since?

Although the moodboard is quite inconsistent in terms of art style, it did help me to visualise the game and communicate my current thoughts. Now that I'm thinking about it, I can't believe my moodboard doesn't feature Ratchet and Clank (2002), considering how much it is inspiring the development of 'Space Junk'!


Did you encounter any obstacles and if so, how did you overcome them?

I don't believe I encountered any obstacles this week. However, I must find the confidence to show my game to my peers! I have shown friends and family and received valuable advice, so perhaps in the next webinar, I will be more inclined to do so.


Reading List

N/A


Comments


bottom of page