top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 6 (Reading Week)

What did you do this week?

This week was a reading week, which meant I had time to focus on my game, as there was no weekly material to complete. I used this time to animate weapon switching (inspired by the Halo franchise) and implement sliding doors.


Figure 1: 'Space Junk' - DevRoom [Unity]


What could you have done differently?

Currently, I am behind on my CRJ posts. So, I could have used the time to catch up on lectures, but I felt the game was more important as it relates to the module assignment.


What did you learn by doing the challenge activity and has any thoughts changed since?

N/A


Did you encounter any obstacles and if so, how did you overcome them?

I decided to code the sliding doors instead of animating them because I wanted more control over their variables, such as direction and speed. I intentionally made the sliding doors trigger once the player gets close so that they would not interrupt the fluidity of the gameplay.


Next week I plan to finish refining the AI and ragdoll physics, implement 'Burn Points' and gun upgrades, and import sound assets. Hopefully, I can release a second build in time for week ten's playtesting session.


Reading List

N/A


Comments


bottom of page