top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 7 (Version Control)

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

Week 7 (Activity) - This week was about version control and understanding the importance it has on online projects. Moreover, it marked the beginning of the second rapid ideation event during the Development Practise module. Therefore, the challenge for this week was to create a repository we would use for RI/E2. The initial spark forum required us to reflect on our goals for RI/E1. In doing so, I have published a post-mortem, which highlights key findings and reflects on whether or not I was able to achieve my goals. In addition, the spark forum required us to create a new set of aims for RI/E2 - which can be read here. To summarise, my goals were based on amending issues I had from RI/E1. I decided to do this because I want to be able to perfect the game jam experience, thereby creating better quality games. After the spark forum concluded, I successfully managed to create a repository for RI/E2 via GitHub.


Fortunately, I have experience using version control software (VCS) such as GitHub and GitKraken, so the weekly material was not unfamiliar to me. Moreover, I had the added benefit of using GitHub Desktop for the first rapid ideation event. Although, as I stated in my previous CRJ post, I believe I benefited most from researching alternate Git tools such as Bitbucket that allows for the integration of Trello. It would have been interesting to implement this client for RI/E2. Although, the popular choice amongst my peers (myself included) was GitHub. I decided to play it safe and relatively low-risk by choosing GitHub for RI/E2 because of two reasons.

  1. I only knew of alternate VCS after I had created the project repo with GitHub.

  2. Challenges would come from my goals and not the use of version control software.

In hindsight, if I knew about alternate VCS (including its advantages and disadvantages) before I created the project repo with GitHub, I would have used Bitbucket for its added benefits. Furthermore, I would have altered goals so not to overwhelm myself with too much experimentation.


As I head into week eight, I will continue to adhere to ICEDIP and eventually make my way into Unity. I am feeling anxious about delaying CRJ posts for the benefit of the event. However, I know it is significant for the upcoming assessment. Regarding RI/E2, I am feeling good about developing my idea in Unity, and I look forward to listening to my peers about their work. No obstacles yet.


Comments


bottom of page