top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 8 (Research)

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

Week 8 (Activity) - Like Week 5 (Reflection), I have broken this CRJ post into two different sections. The first section is about RI/E2 and the second section is about the weekly material on ethics and audience research. As I am writing this, both rapid ideation events have now concluded. Although, this week, I will be reflecting on the development of RI/E2. Therefore, the post-mortem will be released in 'Week 9' and updated in the future. My priority for the upcoming week is to focus solely on the weekly material. However, I may have to delay 'Week 10' and 'Week 11' as the documentation for the rapid ideation events are crucial for the upcoming assessment.


RI/E2 (Taking out the Trash)

I am happy with the current state of the game. The creative fostering techniques I used for this event (Collage and Crazy Eights) were effective in generating different ideas. However, I feel like the 'Crazy Eights' technique is better suited to specific elements such as UI design because it was somewhat daunting coming up with a new idea every minute for eight minutes. I am disappointed that I failed to use techniques involving participants, as this would have had significant implications on gameplay design.


I purposely kept implementation simple as it grants me the opportunity to optimize code and refine core mechanics. I did this intentionally because too much time was spent developing new systems, like queues, in the first rapid ideation event. In addition, I have taken snippets of code from the initial event to speed up implementation. This approach does save time, but in hindsight, I am trading experimentation for safety.


Ethics & Audience Research

The weekly content was extremely insightful. It has made me consider conducting audience research before developing any project, and it has refined my understanding of what is considered 'ethical' research. Initially, I was quite intimidated and nervous about the prospect of ethical research and understanding the differences between 'good' and 'bad' research as I am eight weeks into my course, and I have already cited many sources and quoted individuals (peers included) regardless of obtaining informed consent.


In the future, I am to use a variety of audience research techniques, highlighted by Erik Geelhoed, and I will do my best to remain within the bounds of moral research. My aim for next week is to release a post-mortem on RI/E2 and start on 'Week 9'.


Comments


bottom of page