top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 9 (Communities of Practice)

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

Week 9 (Activity) - Like Week 6 (Reading Week), I have broken this CRJ post into two sections. The first concludes with the second rapid ideation event, and the second is about communities of practice. I am currently focused on delivering the 'Week 10' and 'Week 11' posts. In addition to finalising the documentation for both rapid ideation events. In my last reflection post, I stated that I might delay the weekly material to prioritise the rapid ideation documentation. However, I decided it was best to complete the remaining weeks (excluding Week 12 - which hasn't been released). All that remains to is write up the remaining CRJ posts from my notes. I feel anxious about the assessment, but I am confident that my CRJ will be up-to-date by mid-April.


RI/E2 (Post-Mortem)

To be Updated.


Communities of Practice

It was fascinating to read about the experience my peers had with conferences. In addition, to reading about their goals of attending future events. Like the community I chose to conduct a report on, I was unaware of their existence until my peers discussed their involvement in the spark forum and weekly challenge. I will consider attending future events to promote work and network or learn from veterans of the gaming industry.


Furthermore, I conducted an ethnography report on an online community called IndieGamer. I purposely chose a community I was unaware of because I wanted my findings to be relevant and unbiased. In hindsight, I believe this was the right choice because I have a wider variety of sites to call on whenever I need help programming or I chose to showcase work. Moreover, I wonder how different my findings would be if I reported on IndieGamer for an extended period (like one year, as the brief suggested).


Comments


bottom of page