top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

The Reveal + Planning (RI/E1)

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

Week 4 (Planning) - Use this spark forum to share your thoughts, aspirations, hopes and fears on the rapid ideation session. You may find your peers share them too, or perhaps some with more experience can help you through them – why not? You may even find people with similar interests to collaborate with.


I’ve only ever participated in a few rapid ideation events (game jams) that lasted for 48 – 72 hours. Due to the events being so short, I felt like I couldn’t waste time planning. Instead, I got stuck in and made uninspiring games because I was too afraid of experimenting! It took me a long while to understand that the majority of RI events are not a competition. After adapting my mindset and participating in more jams, I managed to finish a game on time! *I’m not saying it will happen this time, but it gives me more confidence going into this RI event.


I want to use this upcoming RI event as an opportunity to try new things. Due to the length of this event, I plan to take the ‘slow boil’ approach. I want to research concepts and prototype an idea (with a scope that is achievable) before I dive into a game engine. Lastly, I want to manage the project using Kanban software that is unfamiliar to me (such as Trello).


It all sounds great; however, I am concerned that I may be experimenting with too much. So, I plan to use a game engine that I am familiar with (Unity) and use skills I feel relatively confident in. The main objective is not to burn myself out.


As far as skills I would like to focus on, Design and Art will be my main priorities for this RI event. I would like to advance my programming skills; however, I will probably save this for the second RI event, otherwise, I may feel overwhelmed.


Theme: Crow Priest - Dixit Card (Figure 1)

The first rapid ideation event has officially begun! We have two weeks (starting from the 16th of February) to plan and develop an artefact based on the Dixit card (Figure 1) that was selected and a headline of our choosing.


I started by organising my tasks using Trello (Kanban software). I created four initial tasks (Figure 2):

  • Mind map themes from Dixit Card

  • Choose a headline

  • Research themes

  • Game Prototype

'Research Themes' was dependant on completing 'Mind map themes from Dixit Card'.













Preparation (Trello)

Figure 2: Trello Board (RI Event 1)


I decided to use Trello after weighing up the pros and cons on my previous post, "Time & Project Management". I could have used other Kanban software such as HacknPlan, however, one of my initial goals heading into the event was to "[use] Kanban software that is unfamiliar to me".


Mind Mapping (Miro)

Figure 3: Mind Mapping Dixit Card


After my Trello board was established and before having a game idea in mind, I started on the first task in mind mapping themes (Figure 3) inspired by the Dixit Card (Figure 2). I broke down the illustration into six main categories: Position, Objects/Clothing, Humanoid, Priest, Crow and Colour. I then extracted themes from the six main categories and highlighted ones that piqued my interest. This includes Looking Left, Portrait, Sorrow, Suffering and Preparation, Old and vintage, Uncomfortable, Faith, Teamwork, Psychic Abilities, War, Evil, Power and Mystery, and finally, Wisdom, Bravery, and Spirituality.


Research (Slow Boil Approach)

Themes, Reflection & Idea

The more I analysed the illustration of the Dixit Card (Figure 1), the more uncomfortable I became. I thought about developing a game that could induce the same feeling. For example, if I were to create a 2D platformer, I would have the player start from the right of the screen, and travel to the left, which shows regression and promotes a sense of unease (much like the illustration).


Furthermore, I could create obscene obstacles and illusions such as implementing 'invisible bridges' that require the player to invoke a sense of faith in their decision making. Although this could quickly become frustrating, so I could create a mechanic where the player could 'character switch' and use pawns to essentially test potential hazards (whilst limiting the amount of pawns they have).


Players would eventually learn the map by trial and error, much like the popular fan-created Mario game (Figure 4), Unfair Mario (2011). I plan to experiment with these mechanics so I'm not just replicating someone else's idea.


Moreover, after analysing priest attire, I found out that Purple Stoles are used in preparation for specific holidays. They are worn to signify sorrow and suffering (Sector, 2006). The game is beginning to design itself.


Unfair Mario (2011)

Figure 4: Unfair Mario (2011) / REACT


Future Plans

I intend to refine the idea and prototype the game next week in Unity so that I will be able to test core mechanics. I will then attempt to sketch and design a map and wireframe the UI, before heading back into Unity to finish the project. I aim to leave a significant amount of time to polish the game once I have finalised the concept and map.


Conclusion & Reflection

I have started to achieve my initial goals of using the 'slow boil' approach and unfamiliar Kanban software (Trello). I decided to use the 'slow boil' approach due to the length of the event. However, after four days of planning and researching (which pushes back development), I am starting to feel apprehensive. I am eager to take the next step in prototyping by developing a proof of concept in Unity to showcase during next week's webinar. Trello has been incredibly useful in managing my time during the event. The UI (user interface) is simple, and adding extensions such as dependencies makes for efficient and thorough planning.


I am worried that I'm taking a significant amount of time away from developing the game, although, I plan to use the remaining days of this week, plus next week to deliver my artefact on time.


References

  • 2015. UNFAIR MARIO (React: Gaming). [video] Available at: <https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBWimCDEo7o&t=199s&ab_channel=REACT> [Accessed 20 February 2022].

  • Sector, C., 2006. Reading the Colors of the Vatican. [online] ABC News. Available at: <https://abcnews.go.com/Health/Pope/story?id=640088&page=1#:~:text=Purple%3A%20Worn%20during%20the%20Advent,purple%20dye%20was%20very%20expensive.> [Accessed 20 February 2022].



Comments


bottom of page