top of page
Writer's pictureJack Self

Reflection - Week 4 (Time & Project Management)

Updated: Apr 12, 2022

Week 4 (Activity) - This week was about time and project management, in addition to the first rapid ideation event. Before researching this week's material, I started by outlining goals I wanted to achieve for the rapid ideation event and submitted them in the weekly spark forum. The event is over two weeks, starting on the 16th of February and ending on the 2nd of March. My goals were to use the 'slow boil' approach and unfamiliar Kaban software (Trello) whilst practising my design and art skills. In hindsight, I should have taken more time to think about my goals, as I am a few days into the project, and I am beginning to realise that it lacks direction. I could have benefitted from following the ICEDIP method and used stages to help bolster the project forward. Something to think about in RI/E2. Currently, I have labelled tasks under four stages, Proof of Concept, Pre-Production, Production and Post-Production, to give the project structure and some semblance of a direction.


I decided on these goals because I wanted to use this event as a means to experiment with unfamiliar methodologies/software to broaden my skill set. Moreover, by researching the weekly material, I was able to make a definitive decision on the project management software I'd be using for this event. The theme for this event was a Dixit card of a 'Crow Priest' and after analysing the Dixit card, generating themes using a mind map, and adhering to the ‘slow boil’ approach by researching concepts and material – I feel like I have some semblance of an idea. As I enter pre-production, my next steps are to refine and game prototype the idea, solidify the rules, and sketch a map. Then I will head back into Unity to implement the ideas.


My note-taking and research was better, and although I did not speak during our weekly webinar instead, I was intrigued to hear what ideas my peers had during the theme reveal. My aim for next week is to continue working on RI/E1 whilst researching the weekly material and participating in the weekly activity.


Comments


bottom of page